About Us

Board of Directors

Our leadership team brings together a wealth of experience from public and private sectors.

Michael Barnes PSM FIPAAWA


Read more about Michael Barnes PSM FIPAAWA
Being Chair of the WATC board affords me the great privilege of promoting WATC – and the State of Western Australia more broadly – to investors and banks around the world, allowing the State to raise the financing that it needs to continue growing and prospering into the future.

About Michael Barnes PSM FIPAAWA

Mr Barnes assumed the role of Chairperson when he became Acting Under Treasurer in the Department of Treasury in 2014.

Mr Barnes was appointed Under Treasurer in 2015. As Under Treasurer, he is the principal economic and financial policy adviser to the Government of Western Australia. He is also the Chairperson of WATC’s People and Remuneration Committee.

Prior to joining the Department of Treasury in 1997, Mr Barnes worked in the Commonwealth Treasury, where he commenced his career as a graduate in 1992. Mr Barnes holds a Bachelor of Business degree with Honours in Economics, and was awarded a Public Service Medal in the June 2020 Queen’s Birthday Honours for outstanding public service to State government finances in Western Australia.

Michael Court

Deputy Chairperson

Read more about Michael Court
I am privileged to be able to support the Government deliver its commitments, including sustainable economic and financial outcomes for the benefit of the WA community.

About Michael Court

Mr Court was appointed to the Board as Deputy Chairperson in July 2017 and has been Deputy Under Treasurer at the Department of Treasury since September 2016.

Mr Court has almost 30 years of public sector experience with a focus on economic policy and financial management issues. This includes extensive experience in providing advice to Government on the Budget, fiscal strategy and infrastructure policy and planning issues, as well as working across Commonwealth-State financial relations, energy market reform, competition and trade policy. Mr Court previously held positions in the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade, Commonwealth Treasury and London Underground Ltd. He is a former Board Director of GESB and Horizon Power and is currently a member of the Bankwest Curtin Economics Centre Advisory Board.

Pippa Hobson


Read more about Pippa Hobson
It is a highlight of my role to witness the passion Western Australian Treasury Corporation staff have for making a positive contribution to our State.

About Pippa Hobson

Ms Hobson was appointed as a Director in February 2020 and is the Chairperson of the Audit Committee and a member of the People and Remuneration Committee.

Ms Hobson is a Risk Consulting Partner at RSM in Perth. Ms Hobson has over 25 years of internal and external audit and risk consulting experience. Ms Hobson works with clients in the public and private sectors, focussing on internal audit, enterprise risk management and governance services. Environmental, social and governance (ESG), process redesign and cultural reviews are also key services provided. Ms Hobson’s industry experience covers government, utilities, resources, not-for-profit and financial services.

Ms Hobson is passionate about understanding how an organisation’s culture impacts on its performance and conformance, and strives to support organisations optimising their potential.

Susan Murphy AO


Read more about Susan Murphy AO
I am proud to play a small part in Western Australian Treasury Corporation making our State a great place to live and invest.

About Susan Murphy AO

Ms Murphy was appointed as a Director in January 2019.

As CEO of Water Corporation from 2008 – 2018, Ms Murphy led the multi-faceted organisation that supplies drinking water to two million customers and wastewater services across 2.6 million square kilometres. Ms Murphy played a pivotal role in ensuring sustainable services were maintained during a time of declining rainfall, growing population and scarce water supplies.

In each year from 2009 to 2015, Ms Murphy was listed as one of the 100 most influential engineers in Australia by Engineers Australia. Ms Murphy was appointed an Officer of the Order of Australia in 2019 for distinguished service to the natural resources sector in Western Australia, and to engineering.

Wayne Zekulich


Read more about Wayne Zekulich
I am very excited to be able to bring my skills and experience to the Western Australian Treasury Corporation to contribute to its vision, objectives and values for the Government.

About Wayne Zekulich

Mr Zekulich was appointed to the Board as a Director in January 2023. He holds a Bachelor of Business and is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants.

Mr Zekulich is a Consultant and non-executive Director with substantial experience in advising, structuring and financing transactions in both the infrastructure and resource sectors.

Mr Zekulich was previously Chief Financial Officer of Gindalbie Metals Limited and prior to that, Chief Development Officer of Oakajee Port and Rail. Currently, he is Chair of Pantoro Limited, Jindalee Lithium Ltd and Andro Pharmaceuticals Ltd in the United Kingdom.

Kaylene Gulich PSM

Chief Executive Officer

Read more about Kaylene Gulich PSM
I am proud to lead the dedicated team at WATC, where we use our skills, experience and passion to support great financial outcomes for the State. At WATC, we occupy a unique position, as we are able to leverage our expertise and relationships with global and national partners, to contribute to the overall success of Western Australia.

About Kaylene Gulich PSM

Ms Gulich commenced as CEO of WATC in February 2019.

Ms Gulich has extensive experience in public policy, a broad knowledge of financial markets and considerable expertise in the Western Australian economy. She has previously held senior roles within the Department of Treasury, as the Executive Director of both the Economic, and Infrastructure and Finance business units.

As well as being a member of CPA Australia and the Australian Institute of Company Directors, Ms Gulich is currently on the Board of Directors at the Australian Financial Markets Association, VenuesWest and the Western Australian Institute of Sport, and is the Treasurer for IPAA WA. Ms Gulich was awarded a Public Service Medal in the June 2021 Queen’s Birthday Honours for outstanding public service to Western Australia through a range of roles.

Banner image below - Matagarup Bridge. Image courtesy of Tourism Western Australia.